skip navigation

2016 Werner Fricker Cup - National Open Championship

Region I Champion
Christos FC
Maryland Major Soccer League

Sunday, 31 July
Troy Park
Elkridge, Maryland



Christos FC

Werner Fricker Cup
National Open

Region II Champion
Obilic Legends
Premier Soccer League

The Werner Fricker Cup is named after the past President of US Soccer and is an extension of the National Challenge Cup that was first played in 1913. The winners were awarded the Dewar Cup and for most of its history, those who lifted the Open Cup were amateur and semi-amateur clubs. With the participation of professional sides, US Soccer renamed the competition the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup. In 1999, US Adult Soccer established the Werner Fricker Cup to recognize the champion among its own participants in recognition of the past winners who kept the competition played throughout the century.